Flowis offers a unique way of setting up permissions for as many different groups of employees as needed. Its complexity allows you to truly set up Flowis and the information in it with precision, making sure everybody can see, access, edit, and delete only the information they are allowed to.
You can set up permissions for Transactions, Definitions, and the Administration section (items in the left menu).
Permissions for the Administration section
In the left menu, search for Groups. Select the one you want to grant permission to. In the blue frames are categories of Flowis features that can be accessible to users in this selected group. Each section under the blue frames represents one item in the left menu.
The majority of the sections have three permissions – show, update, and manage a given section. “Show” permission means that Users in this Group will have this section visible in their left menu, and after opening it, they can see every item listed there. “Update” permission means they can also edit every item from the list. “Manage” permissions allow them to not only edit but also delete any of the items from the list.
If the Users want to be able to see the Transactions, create new ones, etc., it has to be set up in this very section. The same applies to Definitions – if you want the users to work, for example, with the Suppliers table in Codelist definitions, you have to permit them to Show Codelist definitions (that will allow them to see the Codelist definitions in their left menu and show the whole list) but also to Show Codelist rows (that will allow them to see the particular suppliers in the Suppliers table). Without these permissions, they will not be able to work properly.
If the User is a part of several Groups, all of the Permissions from all of his Groups add up. That means if one of his Groups has permission to Manage Codelist rows and the other Groups do not have this permission, he will have the permission to Manage Codelist rows – it is enough that one of his Groups can do that.
Permissions for Transactions and Definitions
The setup of permissions for Transactions and Definitions is very complex and offers great flexibility. You can find the following items in the left menu:
- Create permissions – to create a new Transaction or new record in a Definition
- Access permission – to see that the Transaction or the record in a Definition exists; to see it in the list
- Show permissions – what is shown after opening a specific Transaction or record in a Definition
- Edit permissions – to edit data on a Transaction or record in a Definition
- Filter permission – which fields are available in the filter on the top of the screen when you are in the list of Transactions or a Definition
- Comment permissions – to add a comment to a Transaction
- Duplicate permissions – to duplicate a Transaction
- OCR validation permissions – to set up the optical character recognition for Transactions
Each of these permissions is further described in a separate article.